Celebrate the Kenai 2019 BP Teachers of Excellence

KPBSD celebrates our three 2019 BP Teachers of Excellence and the 2019 Kenai Education Ally.


I am very proud of all our finalists for this prestigious award,” said Sean Dusek, superintendent. “They all embody the qualities we want all of our teachers to exhibit, especially in how they ensure a strong, positive relationship with each and every student. Each finalist is very deserving of this recognition and I look forward to their continued excellence and leadership in our district.”

2019 Kenai BP Teachers of Excellence

click the name of each honoree to read an expanded online story


Julie Doepken, William H. Seward Elementary School librarian
Her love for reading and books is contagious. Even though she only sees students once a week, she ignites a passion for books, reading and critical thinking in her students. In addition, most of all, she encourages a trait of curiosity, which will benefits students throughout their entire life.”

Jennifer Hornung, Nikiski Middle-High School math and science teacher, and head volleyball coach for Nikiski middle school students
“Not only does Jennifer collaborate with and seek feedback from her colleagues to perfect her craft, but maybe more importantly, she seeks that feedback from her students. Students in her classes provide her with assessment data that continually drives her craft and instruction. She also discusses how our graduates do in the various programs they enter into post high school.”
IMG_3681Wendy Todd, Paul Banks Elementary School kindergarten teacher
“Kindergarten is most children’s first experience in school. Ms. Todd welcomes these young students into their first group-learning environment in a way that engages them in creative, consistent, meaningful activities that create a love of learning.”

BP Educational Ally Award, 2019 Kenai Peninsula

The award recognizes the unsung heroes in our schools who are work to inspire students and are making a difference in our schools and community.


Martha Fleming, Seward High School guidance counselor and more | “Martha was a full partner in the creation of a program that truly put students’ needs at the center of all that Seward High does academically and managerially. This required a fundamental change in the way we thought about instruction, assessment, and credit acquisition and simply could not have been done without her advocacy and leadership throughout the process.”

“These teachers represent the best of Alaska education, and it’s an honor to recognize them with this award,” said BP Alaska President Janet Weiss. “At BP, we’re proud to play a part in supporting their continued success and showing our ongoing commitment to the state and to creating the leaders of tomorrow.”

For 24 years, the BP Teachers of Excellence program has honored K-12 teachers from public and private school districts statewide. Since the program’s inception in 1995, BP has recognized more than 750 teachers. Winning teachers receive a $500 gift card and a $500 matching grant to their school. Teachers also receive a trip to Prudhoe Bay to learn about BP’s operations and paid admission for the Alaska Resource Education’s teacher course.

Learn more

Click the individual awardee name to read an expanded story

BP Teachers of Excellence website



Leave a Comment