Caring for the Kenai competition

Posted by on April 20, 2022 at 4:39 pm

On the eve of Earth Day, this Thursday evening the live Caring for the Kenai competition begins at 6:00 PM, in the Little Theater at Kenai Central High School. In its 32nd year, twelve students will present their innovative ideas in front of a panel of community judges. From simple but practical ideas to the […]

Celebrate Billeen Carlson, ASTE 2022 Teacher of the Year!

Posted by on March 4, 2022 at 3:16 pm

Nikolaevsk School educator Billeen Carlson is the Alaska Society for Technology in Education (ASTE) 2022 Teacher of the Year! The 2022 ASTE Teacher of the Year journey began for Billeen Carlson in 2008 as a substitute teacher in the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District, then in 2017 after earning her Master of Arts in Teaching […]

Celebrate teacher Jason Daniels, PAEMST awardee

Posted by on March 1, 2022 at 2:08 pm

K-Beach Elementary teacher Jason Daniels receives national recognition A Kenai Central High School graduate [Class of 1990] and a teacher at K-Beach Elementary for 24 years, Jason Daniels received national recognition as the Science Awardee for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching (PAEMST). His Mom and Dad were educators in the […]

Homer High School student earns perfect score on AP computer science test

Posted by on November 30, 2021 at 10:56 am

Spencer Kuan Co, now a sophomore at Homer High School, is one of only a couple hundred people worldwide to receive not just a score of 5 on the AP Computer Science exam, but also received every point possible on the test, putting him in the top .29% of people who took the test! A […]

Kenai leader named Alaska 2022 Assistant Principal of the Year

Posted by on November 15, 2021 at 3:38 pm

“Will Chervenak is an extraordinary leader who has moved mountains to create a school culture where students and staff thrive, and it is our distinct privilege to announce him as the 2022 Alaska Assistant Principal of Year!”

Will Chervenak is Alaska Region III AP of the Year

Posted by on November 8, 2021 at 5:22 pm

The KPBSD is proud that Kenai Central High School Assistant Principal Will Chevernak is recognized as the 2022 Alaska Association of Secondary School Principals Region III Assistant Principal of the Year!

Alaska Speech-Language-Hearing recognizes three in the KPBSD

Posted by on October 13, 2021 at 2:54 pm

Celebrate! On September 25, 2021, during the annual Alaska Speech-Language-Hearing Association (AKSHA) convention, excellence in the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District was highlighted, with current and retired staff receiving the Sourdough Award, Red Lantern Award, and the Lifetime Member Award with 20 or more years of outstanding history in clinical practice! “The KPBSD is so […]

Soldotna Montessori Charter School awarded 2021 National Blue Ribbon School

Posted by on September 30, 2021 at 4:20 pm

“It is a tremendous honor to be recognized for academic excellence as a 2021 National Blue Ribbon School. Our staff and families are dedicated to educating the whole child, and receiving this recognition is a tribute to each one’s effort. It is rewarding to see our students’ commitment to each other result in success, both […]

KPBSD Kim Leslie, 2021 Alaska Teacher of the Year Finalist

Posted by on May 12, 2021 at 4:27 pm

Celebrate Ms. Kim Leslie, 2021 Alaska Teacher of the Year Finalist! “My advice to students, or to all humans really, is to be mindful of what truly makes you feel at your best or the most alive. What activities or type of work? Being surrounded by which people? Learning about what? Nourish those elements in […]

Spirit of Youth Wins

Posted by on May 5, 2021 at 12:04 pm

Five Kenai Peninsula Borough School District students are recognized during the 23rd Annual Spirit of Youth Awards! Spirit of Youth highlights dedicated young people and unsung heroes from around Alaska. The awards recognize the hard work and efforts of these future leaders. Congratulations! 2021 Discovery Award: Austin Cline Homer High SchoolAustin became an Eagle Scout by […]